So many people always wonder why I constantly have to say these words, “I’m proud to be an African Woman”, so I figured why not tell you the reason in my blog .Moving to the US at a young age of 13, I was always proud to be from Zambia to the point where I would share everything about my country to my classmates. At the time, I actually thought it was cool to talk about Africa, not realizing that the things I was sharing like what we eat, how we dressed, what we did on a daily basis were considered uncool to my classmates. I also learned that while I was proud to share, my classmates were actually making fun of my heavy African accent at the time. With all of this, I became very discouraged and embarrassed to talk about where I was from. Within a few of being in the U.S, I became a lost child who would deny that she was African when asked. Anytime someone asked me where I was from, I would immediately respond with a defensive answer like, “what do you mean where am from?” or, something like “I’m from here, where are you from?” Keep in my mind I was only 13-14yrs old at this time. I cared about what people said and thought of me.

As I got older and more mature, and moved to a whole new state, I noticed I had a whole new attitude. I honestly give credit to one of my advisors, Mr. Thomas. From the day I started school at Southport High School, he would have on an African outfit and I made it a point to avoid him for fear of him asking me where I was from, until one day he called me into his office, which was decorated in everything African. It was at that point that I realized other people actually loved Africa. After speaking to him for almost an hour, I gained the confidence to boldly say I was from Zambia. Seeing Mr. Thomas proudly embrace his roots, although American born inspired me. Long story short, he encouraged me to participate in a few events on culture where I had an opportunity to share my culture as well as use my voice. I also was proud to wear my African outfit. (This was in the 11th grade, I was only 17). From then on I promised myself to never be ashamed of where I was from. At the age of 18, I was the first African to be crowned as prom Queen, something I never thought I would be. I vowed to stand up for anyone who was bullied no matter the reason. I got the confidence to proudly say I am African, Zambian born with a slight accent that I hope I never lose. So I share this with you all just to say, I was once upon a young girl who was embarrassed to say she was African due to being bullied about my skin, accent, and what I wore. At the age of 28, I can boldly and proudly say, I will NEVER be ashamed of where I am from. I am AFRICA, I am ZAMBIA and always will be!!! Unapologetically African!!

8 thoughts on “Proud to be an African woman!!

  1. That’s wonderful Niza. I’m glad you got yourself back after all you went through in school. You are black, beautiful inside and out , bold and fearless. I like the way you say that you don’t wanna lose your accent. That’s what makes us unique. I don’t wanna lose also that what separates me from the crowd. Keep it up gal. Love ya and miss you.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I miss you, love you and I truly appreciate friends like you. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. Yesssss, I don’t ever want to lose my accent. I’m actually happy when people hear my accent:) I will be coming to visit you, traveling is on my list.

      Like

  2. You are so remarkable and happily am I proud of you.Be what you are and lift that african zeal high.Go zambia,go girl because afew are like you and hope alot will learn.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Awwwww My sweet Mutango. This means a lot. Thank you for taking the time to read my blog. I love you and while in the States, I will continue to lift my continent and country. Forever a Zambian woman.

      Like

Leave a comment